COLUMBUS— The Ohio Senate today gave overwhelming bipartisan approval to Senate Joint Resolution 5, which revises the process by which Ohio draws its legislative and Congressional districts. Co-sponsored by Senators Frank LaRose and Tom Sawyer (D- Akron), it passed by a vote of 32-1.

“We came together as a bipartisan group and worked to draft a plan which is not designed to benefit one party or the other but truly to set up a better method of drawing districts that is in the best interest of all Ohioans,” LaRose said. “This resolution creates a process that is fair and accountable, and establishes a solid foundation from which to build in the next General Assembly.”

Under the resolution, a seven-member redistricting commission would be established, consisting of the Governor, Auditor of State, Secretary of State and four members appointed by the legislative leaders in each chamber. The commission would elect bipartisan co-chairs, and none of the members could be a sitting member of the state Legislature or Congress. Any plan proposed by the commission must receive five votes – including at least one vote from the minority party.

Featured Posts

LaRose Announces Scholarship Opportunities For High School Seniors


State Senator Frank LaRose today announced the beginning of this year's annual Legislative Scholarship Program, sponsored by the Ohio Association of Career Colleges and Schools.  The program offers over 220 scholarship opportunities worth more than $1 million to graduating high school seniors in Ohio.


Guest Column By Senator Frank LaRose: Working To Bring A Culture Of Problem Solving To Ohio


Like most honest couples, my wife and I would readily admit that we don’t agree on everything. But we agree on enough, and think enough of each other, that we are going to spend the rest of our lives together.


LaRose Named Chairman Of State And Local Government Committee In The Ohio Senate


Ohio Senate President Keith Faber last week appointed State Senator Frank LaRose to serve as the Chairman of the Senate Standing Committee on State and Local Government.


LaRose Sworn-in, Begins Second Term In The Ohio Senate


During the Opening Ceremonies, State Senator Frank LaRose (R–Copley) was sworn in for his second term in the Ohio Senate, representing the 27th District in the state legislature’s upper chamber. Following months of hard work on the campaign trail, Senator LaRose won reelection to the seat in the November 4, 2014 General Election.