Senate District 12
Matt Huffman
Huffman Applauds Signing Of $2.62 Billion Capital Budget, Highlights Local Projects
April 2, 2018

COLUMBUS - On Friday, the state's Capital Budget was signed into law by the Governor, investing $2.62 billion in Ohio's infrastructure and local community projects.  

The legislature generally approves a Capital Budget every two years with the goal of funding needed improvements to public services and facilities across the state, including schools, roads and bridges, waterways and parks. For a full list of community projects by county, click here.

“In addition to the multitude of statewide initiatives, I am especially pleased with the many projects in the 12th District slated for funding," said State Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima). "These projects offer important opportunities to advance the health, education, and general wellness of our communities.”


Supporting Culture and Education

  • $350,000 will go to the Champaign Aviation Museum to construct a new hangar facility to expand their activity space.

  • $250,000 will be used to create a safe multi-use path between New Bremen High School and the K-8 campus.

  • Over $270,000 is set aside to construct a new public amphitheater in Versailles.

Supporting Local Infrastructure

  • $200,000 will be utilized to relocate the Allen County Engineer’s Office.

  • $250,000 will be invested to complete improvements to Grand Lake’s shoreline and water quality.

  • $100,000 will go to upgrades at the Allen County Justice Center.

Supporting Community Health and Wellness

  • $325,000 will help build the STAR Transitional Treatment House in Shelby County, a home to help transition persons from prison to independent life.

  • $500,000 will be redirected to make numerous recreation and athletic facility improvements in Auglaize and Mercer counties.

  • Further appropriations are made to renovate parks in Greenville and Fort Loramie.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.