Senate District 22
Larry Obhof
Ohio Senate District 22
Counties: Ashland, Holmes (part), Medina, Richland
Senator Larry Obhof
1 Capitol Square, 2nd Floor
Hometown: Medina
(614) 466-7505
Featured Videos with Senator Obhof
Obhof Leads Successful Redistricting Reform Effort in Ohio
Helping Victims of Human Trafficking Rebuild Their Lives
Ohio's Transportation Budget: Investing in our Roads, Bridges and Highways
Fighting the Drug Crisis: Strengthening Penalties on Fentanyl Traffickers
BWC Billion Back: Helping Ohio's Businesses Invest in Their People and Operations

Larry Obhof serves as President of the Ohio Senate for the 132nd General Assembly.  As the presiding officer of the 33-member Senate, Obhof is responsible for leading the Senate's Majority Caucus as it sets the policy agenda for the two-year legislative cycle.  He is also responsible for the formal organization of the chamber, including recognizing members in debate, preserving order and decorum, calling for votes and signing all acts.


President Obhof proudly represents the people of the 22nd Senate District, which includes Medina, Ashland and Richland counties, as well as portions of Holmes County.  He is focused on improving Ohio’s economy, and has been a staunch advocate of fiscal responsibility, smaller and more efficient government, and lower taxes.  As a member of the Senate, Obhof has sponsored legislation covering a wide range of issues including education, civil and criminal law, election administration, and taxation.  He has been described by newspapers as someone who has earned “a reputation as a lawmaker with a willingness to work across party lines.” Prior to his election as President of the Senate, Obhof served as both President Pro Tempore (the chamber's number two position) and as Majority Whip.


President Obhof chairs the Rules and Reference Committee, which determines which bills, resolutions and appointments are considered by the full Senate. Obhof also chairs the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee and the Legislative Service Commission, which oversees a staff that is responsible for providing members of the General Assembly with impartial and accurate information and reports concerning legislative issues.


President Obhof has received numerous honors in recognition of his work, including several “Legislator of the Year” awards. Among others, these include being named Watchdog of the Treasury by the United Conservatives of Ohio and a Friend of Agriculture by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. In 2014, Senator Obhof was named Legislator of the Year by the Public Children Services Association of Ohio. Obhof was named Guardian of Small Business by the National Federation of Independent Business (in 2013) and received the Outstanding Legislator Award from the Ohio Society of CPAs (in 2015) in recognition of his efforts to improve Ohio’s economy. 


In addition to his legislative duties, President Obhof is an attorney and he has served as an adjunct law professor.  Obhof graduated with degrees in Economics, History, and Political Science from The Ohio State University. He earned his law degree from Yale Law School.


President Obhof resides in Medina with his wife, Nicole, and their three daughters.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.