Senate District 17
Bob Peterson
Peterson Re-Elected to Second Term as Senate President Pro Tempore
November 15, 2018
COLUMBUS—State Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) was unanimously elected by the Senate Majority Caucus to retain his position as Senate President Pro Tempore for the 133rd General Assembly.

"I am truly honored that my colleagues have once again put their trust in me to serve on the Senate's leadership team," said Peterson. "I look forward to closing out this General Assembly, and then getting right back to work identifying priorities and finding new and innovative ways to drive Ohio forward next year."

Peterson, who represents the 17th Senate District, has served in the number two leadership position since January 2017.

“I value Bob’s principled, steady leadership in the Ohio Senate, and I look forward to continuing to serve with him as President Pro Tempore,” said Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina), who was elected to a second term as President. “Bob devotes himself to listening to and understanding the concerns and ideas of his constituents, and he provides thoughtful leadership on issues important to Ohioans.”

The Republican Majority also re-elected other members of the leadership team, Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) as Senate President and Senator Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as Majority Floor Leader. Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima) was newly-elected as Majority Whip.

Members of the leadership team will be officially elected by their colleagues and sworn-in during the opening session of the Ohio Senate on January 7, 2019. They will serve in those leadership positions through the end of 2020.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.