Senate District 14
Joe Uecker
Uecker's Bill to Improve Customer Service for Ohio's Hunters and Anglers Advances to House
April 11, 2018
COLUMBUS—State Senator Joe Uecker (R-Miami Township) today announced the Senate passage of legislation aimed to better serve sportsmen and women by improving access and affordability of Ohio's fishing and hunting licenses.


"Over 900,000 fishing licenses and over 385,000 hunting licenses were purchased in Ohio in 2016," said Senator Uecker. "By providing better customer services and more convenient licensing options to these Ohioans, our sportsmen and women will continue to enjoy the activities they love for generations to come."  


Under the proposed legislation, fishing licenses will be valid for one year from the date of purchase, while also removing the requirement to purchase a license every year by establishing a three year, five year and lifetime hunting and fishing license. Current law states that fishing licenses are only valid from the first day of March of the current year and expire the last day of February the following year.


The bill also takes measures to promote additional family participation by expanding the apprentice hunting license, granting the Chief of Wildlife the ability to create license packages i.e. a husband and wife package, and allowing those with disabilities to hunt with an all-purpose vehicle on both private and public land.


The Chief of the Division of Wildlife is also granted discretion in requiring people to have fishing licenses to better accommodate veterans and those with disabilities. In the past, veteran organizations have run into roadblocks when hosting charitable events due to participants not having an Ohio fishing or hunting license. 


For additional details on the legislation, visit the Ohio Channel's video archives by clicking here.


Senate Bill 257 now goes to the Ohio House of Representatives for further consideration.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.