Skip to main content

Ohio Senate President Matt Huffman Welcomes New Senators to 135th General Assembly

January 3, 2023
Matt Huffman News

COLUMBUS- Senate President Matt Huffman (R-Lima) welcomed new senators sworn in during the first session of Ohio's 135th General Assembly.

President Huffman who begins his second term as President, was also sworn in, with his family watching in the chamber.

Cheryl and I welcomed our seventh grandchild over the holidays, said Huffman, We understand the importance of helping provide a foundation for success for the next generation of Ohioans.

The Senate Republican caucus increased its majority to 26 of the 33 members of the Senate, a level last achieved more than fifty years ago.

Newly elected members were sworn in this week including, State Senator Michele Reynolds (R- Canal Winchester) serving Ohio's 3rd Senate District, State Senator Shane Wilkin (R- Hillsboro) serving the people of Ohio's 17th Senate District, and State Senator Al Landis (R-Dover) now serving Ohio's 31st Senate District. 

I'm eager to serve my community in the Senate, said newly elected republican Michele Reynolds, R-Canal Winchester. We often talk about districts and the constituents we serve, but really I think of them as my neighbors.

Click here to watch opening session and follow along with work of the Ohio Senate by visiting www.OhioSenate.gov.