Senate District 19
Andrew O. Brenner
The Ohio State Indoor Track Big Ten Champions Recognized by the Ohio Senate
April 3, 2019
Karen Dennis, 2019 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year
Sade Olatoye, 2019 Big Ten Indoor Field Athlete of the Year

COLUMBUS—State Senator Andrew Brenner (R-Powell) today welcomed The Ohio State University women's indoor track and field team to be honored during Senate session for winning the 2019 Big Ten Championship.

The competition took place in February at the U-M Indoor Track Building in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Buckeyes registered 112 points during the two-day meet to clinch their third Big Ten indoor title and first since 2015.

"It was an honor to have these talented athletes and impressive coaches join us today to be recognized for their outstanding achievements," said Brenner. "Their hard work and commitment is a true testament to their character."

In addition to the team's overall accomplishment, special recognition was given to Sade Olayote, who was individually named the 2019 Women's Field Athlete of the Big Ten Championship. Sade claimed gold in the shot put with a throw of 17.27m/56’8″ and set a career-best in the weight throw with a silver-medal mark of 23.84m/78’2.75″.

The team was led to victory by Coach Karen Dennis. Karen also had the distinct honor of being named the 2019 Big Ten Conference Women's Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year.

Karen is in her third season as director of track & field and cross country at Ohio State and entering her 15th season overall in Columbus. Dennis spent eight seasons (2006-2014) as the women’s track and field/cross country head coach at Ohio State and was an assistant track coach for four seasons (2003-2006) prior to her appointment as program director.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.