Senate District 2
Theresa Gavarone
Gavarone Chosen to Serve on the Ohio Ballot Board
Named Vice Chair by Ballot Board Members
July 12, 2021

COLUMBUS—Senate President Matt Huffman recently appointed State Senator Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green) to serve on the Ohio Ballot Board, which is comprised of five members, including Ohio's Secretary of State. Today, the members unanimously voted to name Gavarone to serve as vice chair of the board. 

“It is a privilege to be chosen to serve on the Ohio Ballot Board," said Senator Gavarone. "I look forward to working with Secretary LaRose and the rest of the Board to ensure that the issues put before Ohio's voters are easy to understand and consistent with the rules laid out in Ohio law."

Ohio’s Ballot Board has existed since 1974 when voters approved its creation in the Ohio Constitution. The Ballot Board is charged with prescribing and certifying the ballot language for proposed Constitutional amendments, initiatives, and referenda and oversees efforts to inform voters of proposed ballot issues.

Ohio’s Constitution permits both Ohio voters and the General Assembly with the ability to propose amendments to the Constitution. Any amendment that is proposed must ultimately be approved by Ohio’s voters.  

Learn more about Ohio's Ballot Board by clicking here.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.