Senate District 2
Theresa Gavarone
Governor Signs Road Naming Bill Honoring the Lives and Legacies of Local Heroes
March 4, 2020
Senator Gavarone with Ohio Governor Mike DeWine and the family of Sgt. Theodore Ward

COLUMBUS—State Senator Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green) today joined Governor DeWine for the signing of House Bill 276, honoring the lives and legacies of heroes from Erie, Lucas, Wood and Ottawa counties. 

House Bill 276 requires the Ohio Department of Transportation to place signs along the designated roadways recognizing the sacrifices of SEAL Edward C. Byers, Jr., Sgt. Alex Drabik, Sgt. Arthur A Mora, Jr., and Catawba Island Township Veterans, Private First Class William E. Galloway and Specialist 4 James M. Davenport

"This dedication serves to honor the lives and legacies of the brave Americans who fought to protect the liberties we enjoy today," said Gavarone. "These signs will forever serve as a reminder to our community of their heroic and selfless service."

SEAL Edward C. Byers, Jr.

Master Chief Special Warfare Operator (SEAL) Edward C. Byers, Jr. received the Medal of Honor on February 29, 2016, for his part in rescuing Dr. Dilip Joseph, an American citizen held captive in Afghanistan.

In his honor, the northbound and southbound lanes of SR 65, between the intersection of SR 64 and the intersection of the western border of Wood County will be named “Master Chief Special
Warfare Operator (SEAL) Edward C. Byers, Jr. Medal of Honor Recipient Highway."

Sgt. Alex Drabik

In 1945, Sgt. Alex Drabik was the first Allied soldier to cross the Rhine River during WWII. He led the charge across the Remagen Bridge under heavy fire from German forces and was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross for his bravery.

The northbound and southbound lanes of I-475, between Hill Avenue and SR 2, in Lucas County will be named “SGT Alex Drabik Memorial Highway."

Sgt. Arthur A Mora, Jr.

Sgt. Arthur A. Mora, Jr. was killed in action on October 19, 2005, when his vehicle was struck by enemy indirect fire during patrol operations, while serving in the U.S. Army during Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Under House Bill 276, the northbound and southbound lanes of SR 25, between the intersection of USR 20 and the intersection of USR 23 in Wood County will be named “SGT Arthur A. Mora, Jr. Memorial Highway." 

Sgt. Theodore Ward
Sgt. Theodore Ward served in the U.S. Army during the Vietnam War and was killed in action on May 8, 1969. To honor his life, the eastbound and westbound lanes of USR 6, between Frailey Road and Hahn Road in Erie County will be named “SGT Theodore Ward Memorial Highway."

Catawba Island Township Veterans

House Bill 276 authorizes the Catawba Island Township Board of Trustees to erect auxiliary markers displaying PFC William E. Galloway and  SP4 James M. Davenport on a rotating basis on SR 53, commencing at the intersection of that route and Water Street and proceeding in a southerly direction to the Catawba Island Township line, in Ottawa County.

To watch coverage of the bill signing, click here. For more information on the details of the legislation, click here.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.