Senate District 5
Stephen A. Huffman
Huffman and Obhof Join President Trump to Honor Dayton Police
September 9, 2019

COLUMBUS - State Senator Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City) and Senate President Larry Obhof (R- Medina) today joined President Donald Trump and Lieutenant Governor Jon Husted for a special ceremony awarding the Medal of Valor to the Dayton police officers who responded to the tragic shooting last month.

The six officers, who responded within 32 seconds of the shooting, were Sgt. William C. Knight, Officers Brian Rolfes, Jeremy Campbell, Vincent Carter, Ryan Nabel and David Denlinger.

"Thank you to these outstanding officers, who demonstrated great courage in the face of danger," said Huffman. "Your selfless sacrifice is more than deserving of the Medal of Valor. I am humbled by your example and grateful for your service to our community." 

According to the U.S. Department of Justice, the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest decoration for bravery exhibited by public safety officers in the United States.

“The courageous response of these Dayton police officers saved many lives from a hateful attack,” said Obhof. “Their community, state and nation thank them for their unflinching bravery and service.”

To watch coverage of today's ceremony, click here

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.