Senate District 1
Rob McColley
McColley Appointed to Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission
March 1, 2019
The Ohio Turnpike is a 241-mile toll road offering one of the safest, best and most convenient routes for motorists to reach east/west destinations along the northern corridor of Ohio.
COLUMBUS—State Senator Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) this week was appointed by Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) to the Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission. The legislature authorized the creation of the Ohio Turnpike Commission in 1949, who oversaw the Turnpike's construction which was completed on October 1, 1955. The Commission handles matters pertaining to the 241-mile toll road.

"The Turnpike is a vital resource to all of Northwest Ohio that provides safe travel for commuters and goods. I look forward to serving on the Commission to ensure Ohioans and businesses continue to have a safe and reliable route to travel and transport goods across northern Ohio," said McColley, who also serves as Chairman of the Senate Transportation, Commerce and Workforce Committee.

According to their 2017 annual report, a total of 55.2 million vehicles in 2017 surpassed the previous record from 2016, which was 54.9 million passenger cars and commercial vehicles combined.

The Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission consists of seven voting members and three non-voting members. Six voting members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The seventh voting member is the Director of the Ohio Department of Transportation, who is a member ex-officio.

Two of the three non-voting members are appointed, respectively, by the President of the Ohio Senate and the Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives. The third non-voting member is the Director of the Office of Budget and Management.

The Commission's most recent meeting was held on February 25, 2019. For more information, click here.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.