Senate District 1
Rob McColley
McColley Recognizes Local State Champions During Senate Session
Senate Resolutions Presented to Students from Leipsic, Kalida, Liberty Center and Antwerp High Schools
June 20, 2019

COLUMBUS—State Senator Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) today presented four Senate resolutions to high school state champions from across the 1st Senate District.

"I never cease to be amazed by the incredibly talented students that we have in Northwest Ohio," said Senator McColley. "The fact that I had the opportunity to recognize not just one, but four state championships here today is a proud moment for me and our entire community."

The state championships that were recognized include:

The Antwerp High School Softball Team for winning the OHSAA Division IV State Championships, marking the first softball championship in school history. Led by head coach Krista Ordway, they defeated Mechanicsburg High School in a hard fought 5-0 victory.

Long Jumper Carlee Siefker of Leipsic High School for winning the Division III State Long Jump Championship. The victory marks her third state title this season, with victories in the indoor long and triple jump this past winter.

Earlier this year, Siefker set a regional record (and personal best) when she jumped 18 feet, 10 3/4 inches.

The Liberty Center High School boys 1,600-meter relay team for securing the 2019 Division III State Championship.

Parker Strauss, Nathan Meller, Zach Bowers and Weston Kundo won first place with a time of 3:22.33.

The Kalida High School girls 4x100-meter relay team for winning the Division III State Championship.

Abby Maag, McKayla Maag, Brenna Smith and Hannah Berheide clinched the victory with a time of 49.44 seconds.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.