Senate District 32
Sean J. O'Brien
Senator O'Brien Announces New Ohio Trails Website
March 26, 2018
Today, state Senator Sean J. O’Brien (D-Bazetta) announced the launch of a new website dedicated to promoting Ohio’s public recreation trails. 

“We started the Trails Caucus in early 2017 as a way of bringing together a bipartisan group of like-minded legislators to collaborate on outdoor and trails-related issues,” said Senator O’Brien, co-chair of the Ohio Legislative Trails Caucus (OLTC). “To now have, less than a year later, one of our primary goals come to fruition shows just how important Ohio’s trails are to people in this state, from advocates to legislators and the heads of state agencies like ODNR. I am grateful for the tremendous level of cooperation exhibited by all parties involved.”

The OLTC, the first legislative group of its kind in the nation, held its first meeting on May 9, 2017 and has since grown to include 28 state legislators from both sides of the aisle and both chambers of the Ohio legislature.

Since its inception, caucus members have worked with trail advocates and representatives from state agencies like the Ohio Department of Natural Resources on a number of initiatives to promote Ohio’s walking, hiking, biking, horseback and water trails. This includes Senate Concurrent Resolution 15, which designates 2018 as “Ohio’s Year of the Trails”. The Ohio Senate passed the resolution in November last year – it is now expected to be adopted by the Ohio House of Representatives.

“Trails provide so many different health, economic and transportation benefits to the regions where they are located. People are increasingly beginning to realize that and are taking action to protect and improve them,” said Senator O’Brien. 

The new website is available at the following address: In addition to exploring Ohio’s trails, users can search for events taking place throughout the state and add their own events.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.