Senate District 27
Kristina D. Roegner
Senate Passes Resolution Urging Congress to Permanently Extend Daylight Saving Time
February 26, 2020

COLUMBUS—The Senate passed Senate Concurrent Resolution 8, sponsored by Senators Kristina Roegner (R-Hudson) and Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House), urging Congress to enact the "Sunshine Protection Act of 2019," federal legislation that would permanently extend Daylight Saving Time across the country.

Since beginning work on this issue, I’ve heard from numerous individuals across the state sharing their experiences regarding why changing time twice a year disrupts their lives significantly,” said Roegner. “Beyond anecdotal stories, we’ve also learned how these time changes are connected to increased car accidents, health issues, workplace accidents and more.” 

Research shows that biannual time changes are associated with increases in fatal automobile accidents, workplace injuries, and heart attacks, among other issues. Instead of changing time twice a year, S.C.R. 8 urges Congress to take action on federal legislation enacting Daylight Saving Time uniformly and permanently across all states. The effect of doing so would shift daylight toward the evening during the winter months when Standard Time is currently observed.

Roegner went on to say, “It is time to end this nonsense of government-induced biannual jet lag.”
S.C.R. 8 will now be sent to the Ohio House for further consideration.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.