Senate District 18
John Eklund
Eklund Recognizes 2016 Teacher of the Year
November 13, 2015

State Senators John Eklund (R-Munson Township) and Frank LaRose (R-Copley Township) honored the 2016 Teacher of the Year, Teresa Cianchetti, for her outstanding service as an educator in the Field Local Schools.

A resident of Munroe Falls and a thirty-year teaching veteran, Teresa Cianchetti has displayed a deep concern for young people, and she has excelled at making learning enjoyable for the students in her classroom. As a first-grade teacher at Suffield Elementary School, she has brought to her position a wealth of experience acquired as a K-12 visual arts teacher for the Field Local School District.

"Mrs. Cianchetti has devoted the past thirty-years to the betterment of her students and this award is a testament to her leadership in the classroom," said LaRose. "The students in the Field Local School District are blessed to have a role model like Mrs. Cianchetti."

The Ohio Department of Education awarded Cianchetti this honor at a surprise assembly in front her students and fellow educators.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.