Senate District 18
John Eklund
Press Release: Eklund Appointed to Ohio Tax Expenditure Review Committee
July 25, 2017
COLUMBUS - Last week, Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) appointed State Senator John Eklund (R-Munson Township) to the Tax Expenditure Review Committee.


"We have worked hard to improve the business climate here in Ohio by enabling job creation through tax relief," said Senator Eklund. “In doing so, it is important that we ensure that all forms of tax relief are advancing the policy objectives that underlie them, in practice as well as theory. This sort of critical, self-evaluation is fundamental to good government.”

The committee is comprised of members of the Ohio Senate and House of Representatives to periodically review annual tax credits, deductions and exemptions in Ohio’s tax code. Each deduction and exemption will be reviewed at least once every eight years to determine if they are meeting policy objectives and are impacting economic development.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.