Senate District 30
Frank Hoagland
Hoagland, Gavarone Champion Effort to Name the "Ohio Medal of Honor Highway"
October 7, 2021

COLUMBUS—On Wednesday, the Ohio Senate voted unanimously to pass House Bill 291, which included an effort led by State Senators Frank Hoagland (R-Mingo Junction) and Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green), to designate the portion of U.S. Highway 20 in Ohio as the “Ohio Medal of Honor Highway.” 

"We as a community, state, and nation must never forget the sacrifices of our American HEROES," said Hoagland. "I am hopeful that this dedication will serve as a sobering, yet proud reminder to us all of the enormous acts of heroism carried out by our veterans to defend and protect this great nation." 

The 260 mile "Ohio Medal of Honor Highway" will help complete the dedication of the entire 3,365 mile long U.S. Highway 20 as the "National Medal of Honor Highway."

The Medal of Honor is the nation’s highest award for valor presented to veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States. 

The segment of this highway, spanning across the northern portion of Ohio, runs through Williams, Fulton, Lucas, Wood, Sandusky, Huron, Lorain, Cuyahoga, Lake, and Ashtabula counties. 

"Highway 20 is the longest highway in our nation," said Gavarone, who represents a portion of these counties in northern Ohio. "It is fitting that we use this long stretch of road, uniting 12 states, to honor the men and women who have risked their lives to protect the United States. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to work alongside Senator Hoagland on this important legislation to honor and celebrate our veterans." 

To learn more on House Bill 291, click here
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.