Senate District 31
Jay Hottinger
Senator Jay Hottinger Elected to Serve as President Pro Tempore for the 134th General Assembly
November 10, 2020
The Ohio Senate Majority Caucus today unanimously elected Senator Matt Huffman (left) to serve as President and Senator Hottinger (right) to serve as President Pro Tempore for the 134th G.A.

COLUMBUS—Members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus today unanimously elected State Senator Jay Hottinger (R-Newark) to serve as President Pro Tempore for the 134th General Assembly. 

As President Pro Tempore, Hottinger will help guide the policy decisions of the Ohio Senate and work on key issues during the 134th General Assembly such as the state budget, continued economic recovery, and job creation.  

"It is an honor to be selected by my colleagues to serve as the President Pro Tempore on the Ohio Senate’s leadership team,” said Hottinger. “I am committed to utilizing my years of legislative experience to help lead the Senate and improve the lives of all Ohioans, while continuing to serve my constituents in the 31st Senate District."

Hottinger has served in leadership as Majority Whip since 2019, having previously served in leadership roles as Assistant President Pro Tempore and Assistant Majority Whip in previous Senate terms. President Pro Tempore is the second-highest ranking position in the Ohio Senate.

Other leadership members for the 134th General Assembly elected today by the caucus include Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima) to serve as President, Senator Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) as Majority Floor Leader and Senator Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) as Majority Whip. All leadership members will be formally elected by their colleagues and sworn in during opening session of the Ohio Senate on Monday, January 4, 2021.
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.