Senate District 22
Larry Obhof
Senate Honors Debra McDonald at Statehouse for being Named "Ohio Teacher of the Year"
November 13, 2013

COLUMBUS– Ohio’s 2014 “Teacher of the Year,” Debra McDonald, was honored today at the Ohio Statehouse by Senator Larry Obhof (R–Medina) and Senator Frank LaRose (R–Copley).
McDonald received the designation from the Ohio Department of Education last week, in recognition of her dedication and excellence as a teacher at the Wayne County Schools Career Center.
At the career center, McDonald is specifically recognized for her initiative that blends two generations of students through the Early Childhood Education and Care Program. Through the program, high school students at the career center gain valuable, hands-on teaching experiences as they aid in the operation of a fully functioning preschool.
McDonald holds a master’s degree from Marygrove College and has maintained many leadership roles as an educator, including serving as a state advisory group member. She also serves as her district’s program coordinator for the Ohio Resident Educator mentoring program, and is a member of the Ohio Educator Standards Board.
Previously, McDonald has served as a leader on national and state levels for the Family Career and Community Leaders of America. She is the former president of the Wayne Association for the Education of Young Children.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.