Senate District 17
Bob Peterson
Local Governments to Receive Federal Disaster Relief Funding
Galia, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike, Ross and Vinton Among 20 Ohio Counties to Receive Funding for Damaged Infrastructure
April 11, 2019
FEMA-4424-DR, Ohio Disaster Declaration as of 4/8/19. Photo Credit: FEMA,

COLUMBUS—State Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) today announced that 20 southern Ohio counties that were impacted by severe storms, flooding and resulting landslides earlier this year are now eligible for federal funding after a Presidential Disaster Declaration on April 8, 2019.

"The damage caused by these storms continues to impact the health and safety of many people in our district," said Peterson. "This is not the first time many of these communities have faced this kind of flooding, and we appreciate the continued support. These dollars will dramatically improve our ability to reconstruct areas that were hit the hardest."

Governor Mike DeWine declared a state of emergency for the 20 counties impacted by the February 5-13 storms. Joint preliminary damage assessments conducted by local, state, and federal emergency management officials during the second week of March documented $41.4 million in damages to infrastructure.

Ohio counties included in the governor’s emergency proclamation include: Adams, Athens, Brown, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington. Many of these counties are still recovering from similar flooding in 2018.

The Ohio Emergency Management Agency will disburse the federal funds upon receipt and will process all required documentation. This declaration authorization also makes statewide funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.