Senate District 17
Bob Peterson
Peterson Sworn in As President Pro Tempore of Ohio Senate for 133rd General Assembly
January 9, 2019
Ohio Senate Leadership Team (left to right): Majority Whip, Matt Huffman; Senate President, Larry Obhof; President Pro Tempore, Bob Peterson; Majority Floor Leader, Randy Gardner
Senator Peterson is joined by his wife, Lisa, as he takes the oath of office for the 133rd General Assembly.
Color Guard enters Senate Chamber for Opening Ceremony
¿COLUMBUS—State Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) on Monday was sworn in for a second term as President Pro Tempore of the Ohio Senate during opening day ceremonies at the Ohio Statehouse. The ceremony marked the beginning of the 133rd General Assembly.

"It is an honor to once again be trusted by my colleagues to fill this leadership role, and I am eager to begin working with the new members of our Senate family on issues that are important to them and their constituents," said Peterson. "I look forward to working over the next two years to maintain Ohio's balanced budget, reduce barriers to economic development, and continue to build on the many successes we had in the 132nd General Assembly."

Senator Peterson represents the 17th Senate District, which encompasses all or part of Clinton, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Pickaway, Pike, Ross and Vinton counties. He is an 8th generation farmer who still farms part-time with his family in Fayette County.

Other members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus leadership team who were sworn in during Monday’s special ceremonies include: Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) reelected as Senate President; Senator Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) reelected as Majority Floor Leader; and Senator Matt Huffman (R-Lima) newly elected as Majority Whip.

To watch Monday’s session, visit
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.