Senate District 33
Michael A. Rulli
Improving Financial Accountability for Institutions of Higher Education
May 2, 2019
State Senators Michael Rulli (right) and Steve Wilson (R-Warren County) conversing before Session on Wednesday.
COLUMBUS—State Senators Michael Rulli (R-Salem) and Rob McColley(R-Napoleon), joint-sponsors of Senate Bill 120, yesterday joined their Senate colleagues in unanimously passing their legislation to lift a state cap on the number of annual audits that can be performed on institutions of higher education.

"It is crucial that we give the proper authority to conduct necessary audits to ensure Ohio's public universities are running efficiently and educating students effectively," said Rulli. "Today's vote is an important step to give the auditor more tools to identify inefficiencies so students receive the best value for their investment in their education and future."

Under current law, the Auditor of State may conduct a performance audit of only one institution of higher education every two years. If this legislation becomes law, the Auditor will be permitted to conduct performance audits of any institution of higher education in Ohio at their discretion.

“At one audit per biennium, it would take over 50 years to audit every higher education institution in the state,” said McColley. “It is time we enable our state officeholders to identify more potential savings, rather than tying their hands and preventing them from further protecting Ohio taxpayers. It is our sincere hope that this effort will lead to greater accountability and efficiency in our colleges and universities, and that this will ensure Ohio tax dollars are spent effectively and higher education is made more affordable."

Senate Bill 120 will now go to the Ohio House for further consideration. For more information on the details of the legislation, please contact Senator Rulli's Office at (614) 466-8285 or send an email to
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.