Senate District 33
Michael A. Rulli
RELEASE: Rulli Applauds State Action to Add Mahoning County to Presidential Disaster Declaration
June 28, 2019
COLUMBUS—State Senator Michael Rulli (R-Salem) is applauding the efforts of Governor Mike DeWine to request that FEMA add Mahoning County to the 10-county Presidential Disaster Declaration issued by President Donald Trump last week.

"Many people do not know that the damage and flooding in our community is a direct result of the same storm system that severely impacted other parts of the state from May 27-29," said Senator Rulli. "I applaud Governor DeWine's action to request assistance for Mahoning County so we can receive the same disaster relief as others who were impacted. I'm happy to assist in any way possible to get our community the support it deserves."

On June 18, President Trump authorized a presidential disaster for 10 Ohio counties: Auglaize, Darke, Greene, Hocking, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Muskingum, Perry and Pickaway.

In a letter to FEMA, Ohio Emergency Management Agency Executive Director Sima Merick detailed some of the damage.

“Twenty garden-level apartment units in Canfield and four in Boardman that were inundated by both floodwaters and sewer backup remain uninhabitable, displacing these individuals and families who have lost their personal property and are currently relying on family and friends for shelter,” stated Ohio Emergency Management Agency Executive Director Sima Merick in the Governor's June 27 press release. “Many of these tenants are of low income, and the ability to relocate will be extremely challenging, if not impossible, without additional support.”

For more information, please contact Senator Rulli's Office at (614) 466-8285 or send an email to
of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.