Senate District 28
Vernon Sykes
Sen. Sykes Announces Technical Updates to Legislative Map
September 1, 2021

Today, state Senator Vernon Sykes (D-Akron), co-chair of the Ohio Redistricting Commission, announced that he has made technical updates to the state legislative map he presented yesterday on behalf of the Ohio Senate Democratic Caucus. 

“As I stated yesterday, the map we presented to the commission was a starting point for a public discussion about how to redistrict Ohio fairly and transparently,” Sykes said. “Today we are sharing with the public some updates we have made to our map. We encourage the public to provide further suggestions. Giving the public plenty of time to review and vet any proposed map is the only way to ensure a fair map that truly reflects voters’ preferences.”

The maps were updated as follows: 

  1. Senate districts were updated to reflect assignments for members elected in 2020 who will have two years remaining on their terms when the new map takes effect. This involves even numbered districts. The current district numbers follow those members to their new districts.  

  2. Some House districts were renumbered. House districts are numbered in sequential order by county population. However, a district covering Stark, Portage and Geauga counties was out of order. To correct the order, districts 51-73 needed to be renumbered. District 72 became 51, and the remaining districts changed by one.  

  3. House lines remained the same with two exceptions: 

    • The border between House district 22 and 23 in Cuyahoga and Summit counties were altered to increase compactness. 

    • The City of Madeira was mistakenly included in an ineligible House district. This required some population adjustments among Hamilton County House districts. Conforming changes were made to Hamilton County Senate lines.

To visit the updated maps, visit
To view an interactive version of the maps, click here.
To view additional materials, click here.

of terms
What is session? What is a caucus? Find out about these and other commonly used terms related to the Ohio Senate.