Skip to main content

Ohio Senate Approves Board Members for Miami University Center for Civics, Culture, and Society

February 28, 2024
Jerry C. Cirino News

COLUMBUS - The Ohio Senate today approved seven members to operate the Miami University Center for Civics, Culture, and Society. The center was one of five formed at Ohio public universities in House Bill 33, the state's biennial budget. Senator Jerry Cirino (R-Kirtland) and Senator Rob McColley (R-Napoleon) sponsored legislation creating these centers to encourage open civic discussion with a variety of viewpoints on college campuses.

"The Miami University Center for Civics, Culture, and Society will give students the ability to immerse themselves in the ideas and moments that shaped our nation," Cirino said. "Today's appointed members are exceptional scholars and leaders who will run the center with expertise and efficiency. All Miami University students will now have the opportunity to study and discuss the works of our founders and the great philosophers that molded the foundation upon which America was built." 

The center will become Miami University's hub for teaching and research in the historical ideas, traditions, and texts that have shaped the American constitutional order and society. The seven members appointed by the Senate include: Ryan Barilleaux, Thomas Cleveland, Donald Crain, Gary Gregg, II, Dennis Lieberman, Jeffrey Sikkenga, and Bradley Smith.

Senator Cirino looks forward to the Senate reviewing and confirming appointees to similar centers at Cleveland State University and the University of Cincinnati.